home-page-pre-prep

Boys may join the Senior Department, providing spaces are available, at any point throughout Year 7, 8 and 9. The main point of entry for boys not already at Thorpe House is the beginning of Year 7. The second intake is at the beginning of Year 9, when boys from local prep schools join and remain with us until they complete their GCSEs in Year 11. Currently we have very few spaces available in the Senior Department and an early application is advised.

Our aim is simple – to provide excellent teaching in a small school environment, where each boy is known by all of his teachers and is treated as an individual. We utilise our understanding of each student and by using kinaesthetic, visual and auditory techniques, the boys learn to develop their skills and strengths, so that by the time they leave us, they are equipped to face the challenges of a new school and higher education.

The Senior Department provides more than just an opportunity to achieve excellent results. We offer all the other important elements that help to produce a well-rounded individual. We believe that education extends beyond the classroom and we take our extra-curricular activities equally seriously. All boys have the opportunity to compete for the school or their House on the sports field, in the swimming pool and on the athletics track. The Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme is offered as is Young Enterprise, both of which help to develop self-reliance and entrepreneurship. Boys are given the opportunity to take part in a number of overseas trips and visits: the most popular of which are the annual football squad tours to a range of European venues, the GCSE History trip to Ypres Battlefields in Belgium, the joint art and Spanish trip to Barcelona, and the biennial skiing holiday in France.

Above all, the Senior Department is a happy and friendly place in which to learn. Our highly experienced teachers get the best out of each boy and we would be delighted to meet you to discuss how we can work together to ensure that your son maximises his potential in some of the most important years of his life.

Graham Wells, Head of the Senior Department

home-page-pre-prep

GCSE Results

We have a responsibility to ensure our boys excel academically and to their best abilities, and year on year they never fail to impress us with their diligence at exam time; our excellent GCSE results, many of which are well above the national average are indicative of this commitment to learning - Headmaster

Our 2019 GCSE results

THORPE HOUSE NATIONAL AVERAGE
% ACHIEVING 5+ 9 – 4 GRADES 91% 67.30%
% ACHIEVING 9 – 4 GRADES IN:
CHEMISTRY 96% 52.90%
PHYSICS 95% 52.90%
ENGLISH LITERATURE 86% 66.10%
BIOLOGY 95% 52.90%
ENGLISH LANGUAGE 95% 54.00%
GEOGRAPHY 90% 61.90%
HISTORY 90% 60.10%
MATHS 95% 59.60%
% ACHIEVING 9 – 7 GRADES IN:
ART 50% 12.50%
PHYSICS 38% 24.50%
RELIGIOUS STUDIES 36% 30.50%
9 – 4 GRADES (EQUIVALENT TO A – C)
9 – 7 GRADES (EQUIVALENT TO A* – A)
SOURCE: Joint Council for General Qualifications
home-page-pre-prep

The Seniors’ school day

The Senior Department day is similar in structure to that of the Prep Department, but break times and lunchtimes are staggered to give the younger and older boys their own time in the dining room and playground.

‘I’m not leaving Thorpe House behind; I’m taking the values and skills I have learnt since joining the school 13 years ago with me.’

Former Senior Head Boy

 

The majority of boys remain at Thorpe House to complete their GCSEs, but for those boys who take the 11+ and gain entry to local grammar schools there are several single sex and co-educational options available including; Dr Challoner’s Grammar School, Royal Grammar School, John Hampden Grammar School, Chesham Grammar School and Burnham Grammar School.

At age 16 our boys have a number of choices in terms of the next stage of their education. Local grammar schools offer places at sixth form level and the local sixth form colleges have excellent reputations. In a typical year, 65-70% of our 16+ leavers move into grammar schools.

Those who do not enter the grammar school system at 16+ gain places at other independent schools for sixth form.

2017 – 2018 leavers’ destinations include:

Berkshire Agriculture College
Chalfont Community College
Chesham Grammar School
Claires Court (independent)
Clement Danes School
Dr Challoner’s Grammar
Henley College
Licensed Victuallers’School (independent)
Rickmansworth School
William Borlase Grammar School
Windsor College

Regardless of the journey our boys take, we are there at every step to guide them and their parents to making the best decision for their child.

Senior Leadership Team

home-page-pre-prep

MR N PIETREK
Headmaster

home-page-pre-prep

MRS N DORAN
Head of Pre-Prep

home-page-pre-prep

MS K HAMPSHIRE
Head of Prep

home-page-pre-prep

MR G WELLS
Head of Seniors

home-page-pre-prep

MRS J POTTER
Bursar

Teaching staff

Mr G Wells, Head of Seniors – gwells@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs H Bassi, Maths (maternity leave)
Dr J Bates, Chemistry – jbates@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs K Beevor, English; Year 8 form tutor – kbeevor@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr C Blango, Head of the Religious Studies Department – cblango@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr J Brawn, PE; Year 7 form tutor – jbrawn@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr P Britton, Head of Prep PE; Year 6 form tutor – pbritton@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs J Burley, Maths – jburley@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr B Calderwood, Head of Computer Science; Year 9 form tutor – bcalderwood@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr T Corin, Head of the Music Department; Year 7 form tutor – tcorin@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr S Day, Director of Sport; Pastoral Head of Years 7 and 8 – sday@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr R Dhariwal, Physics Teacher – rdhariwal@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs M Degan, Maths (maternity leave)
Mrs J Delve, Learning Support – jdelve@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs I Devlin, English (maternity leave)
Mr M Heppner-Logan, PE – mhlogan@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr A Hoar, Head of the English Department; Year 10 form tutor – ahoard@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs H Horwood, Science – hhorwood@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs L Hughes, Head of Drama; Year 9 form tutor – lhughes@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs S Jenkin, Head of the Science Department; Year 11 form tutor – sjenkin@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr S Kochhar, Head of Mathematics; Year 10 form tutor – skochhar@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr A Lewis, Geography – alewis@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr J Lyne, Geography (Autumn term only) – jlyne@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs A McLelland, French; Year 9 form tutor – amclelland@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs J MacMillan, Head of Learning Support; Year 6 form tutor – jmac@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr M Murrell, Gap Year Student
Ms P Postigo, Head of Spanish; Year 8 form tutor – ppostigo@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs S Saif, Chemistry; Year 11 form tutor – ssaif@thorpehouse.co.uk
Ms K Soltys, Head of French (maternity leave)
Mr J Swart, Head of DT Department; Year 8 form tutor – jswart@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs R Swede, Learning Support – rswede@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr N Tomlinson, Head of the Art Department; Year 9 form tutor – ntomlinson@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs E Trevitt, English (maternity leave)
Mrs M Wade, Learning Support – mwade@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs L Wheat, Latin Teacher – lwheat@thorpehouse.co.uk

Peripatetic teachers

Mr R Freeman, Brass
Mr T Leakey, Piano
Mr P Mallyon, Drums
Mrs L McGrory, Piano
Mr M Morris, , Guitar and violin
Mr A Penman, Woodwind
Mr G Sculphur, Electric guitar
Mr M Talks, Cello
Mr J Woodward, Percussion

Activity coaches

Ms L Taylor & Ms A George, Swimming Coaches
Mr P Stanford, Wycombe Wanderers Football Club
Mr M Small, Judo

Office staff

Bursar, Mrs J Potter – bursar@thorpehouse.co.uk
Bursar’s Assistant, Mrs C Young – cyoung@thorpehouse.co.uk
Registrar and Headmaster’s PA, Mrs J Tyler – office@thorpehouse.co.uk
School Administrator and HR Officer, Mrs N Davidson – ndavidson@thorpehouse.co.uk
Marketing Communications Officer, Mrs J Gaine – marketing@thorpehouse.co.uk
Matron and Domestic Bursar, Mrs J Parker – matron@thorpehouse.co.uk
Receptionists, Mrs J Bevan – reception@thorpehouse.co.uk
Facilities Manager, Mr A Lakhan – facilities@thorpehouse.co.uk
Maintenance Officer, Mr D Perry
Maintenance Officer, Mr A Turner

Kitchen staff

Head Chef, Mr J Hill
Assistant Chef, Ms M Mosley

We chose Thorpe House for its warm and nurturing environment. Since our sons have been there they have thrived academically and socially. What sets Thorpe House apart for us is the fact every boy is encouraged to reach their full potential.

Contact Thorpe House School

If you would like more information about the school, would like a prospectus or would like to arrange a visit, please contact Mrs Tyler, our registrar using the form below.

  • Your Name:*
    0
  • Phone number:*
    1
  • Email address:*
    2
  • Message:*
    3
  • 4

Thorpe House News

Last staff show round before Christmas! The MPH is truly magnificent & much larger than it appears from the outside… https://t.co/tyUA6gfVaJ 16 hours ago
RT @paulupward1: One of several local #schoolproductions #photographed this year. These were taken at #ThorpeHouseSchools stunningly colour… 1 day ago