Welcome to the Prep Department

The Prep Department is a warm, friendly, family-like community where small class sizes mean our teachers have the time, energy and experience to look after the individual needs of each and every boy, enabling him to feel safe and valued and therefore to blossom both academically and emotionally.

home-page-pre-prep

As a school educating boys, we recognise the importance of delivering a learning experience tailored to the way boys learn, so we are constantly looking for contextual, kinaesthetic and visual learning opportunities to engage the boys and get them excited about learning.

The Prep Department is located on both the Pre-Prep site (for Year 3) and the main school building (for Years 4 to 6) where boys are given an excellent foundation for taking the Secondary Transfer Test or the 11+ in September. Our 11+ results for the last three years are shown below; to provide context, approximately 33% of children score 121 or more and at the end of the process and following Selection Reviews, approximately 37% qualify for grammar school.

2015 – 60% of Thorpe boys who took the test were successful.
2016 – 63% of Thorpe boys who took the test were successful.
2017 – 60% of Thorpe boys who took the test were successful.

Last year’s Year 6 leavers’ destinations included Burnham Grammar School, Chesham Grammar School, Dr Challoner’s Grammar School, John Hampden Grammar School and Royal Grammar School.

We take two different approaches to the boys learning at Prep: In Years 3 to 4 the boys have one class teacher for all subjects with the exception of ICT, French, design technology, music, games and PE which are taught by specialist teachers. This prepares them for moving to a fully specialist taught timetable in Years 5 and 6.

During their time at Prep, boys are regularly assessed using standardised assessments that benchmark their results against the national average for the UK.  These results provide a good indication of how our boys are performing against other UK schools.  The information below shows the percentage of Thorpe House Year 6 pupils who in June 2018, scored above the national average score. To provide context, across the UK 50% of children are above average and 50% are below. This means that if 75% of children in a cohort achieve above average scores, that is 25% more than you would expect in an average school.

Boys scoring above the national average overall – 77.0%
Boys scoring above the national average in English – 79.31%
Boys scoring above the national average in maths – 75.86%
Boys scoring above the national average in science – 75.86%

Last year was the first year the Prep Department took part in the Accelerated Reader scheme. AR is a computer program that helps schools manage and monitor children’s independent reading practice. The boys pick a book at their own level and read it at their own pace. When finished, the boys then take a short quiz on the computer; passing the quiz is an indication that he has understood what was read.  At the end of the first year, 75% of boys in Year 4 – 6 were recorded as having a reading age ahead of their chronological age.

The Prep Department is not just about academia, we provide a wide range of extra-curricular activities and trips to contextualise learning and most importantly make it fun. More information can be found here. Although warm and friendly, we maintain high standards of discipline and pride ourselves in producing boys who are caring, tolerant and respectful as well as encouraging a love and curiosity for learning.

We are proud of our department and would like to invite you to visit us so you can experience for yourself the buzz of industrious, happy boys as they go about their busy days.

Mrs K. Hampshire, Head of the Prep Department

home-page-pre-prep

The Prep day

Life at Prep is always very busy, which is something our boys thrive on because in their words, ‘being bored is not an option!’

Senior Leadership Team

home-page-pre-prep

MR N PIETREK
Headmaster

home-page-pre-prep

MRS N DORAN
Head of Pre-Prep

home-page-pre-prep

MS K HAMPSHIRE
Head of Prep

home-page-pre-prep

MR G WELLS
Head of Seniors

home-page-pre-prep

MRS J POTTER
Bursar

Teaching staff

Ms K Hampshire, Head of Prep – khampshire@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr C Blango, Head of the Religious Studies Department – cblango@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr J Brawn, PE – jbrawn@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr P Britton, Head of Prep PE and Year 6 form tutor – pbritton@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr B Calderwood, Head of Computer Science – bcalderwood@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr T Corin, Head of the Music Department – tcorin@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr S Day, Director of Sport – sday@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs M Degan, Maths (maternity leave)
Mr G Devlin, Year 3 – gdevlin@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr M Heppner Logan, PE – mhlogan@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr C Hipwell, Year 5 Form tutor
Mrs H Horwood, Science – hhorwood@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs L Hughes, Head of Drama – lhughes@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr M Jenkin,Year 4 – mjenkin@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr A Lewis, Geography – alewis@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs J MacMillan, Head of Learning Support; Year 6 form tutor – jmac@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs A McLelland, French – amclelland@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr M Murrell, Gap Year Student
Ms P Postigo, Head of Spanish – ppostigo@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs J Redman, Year 5 form tutor – jredman@thorpehouse.co.uk
Ms K Soltys, Head of the French; (maternity leave)
Mr J Swart, Head of the DT Department – jswart@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mr N Tomlinson, Head of the Art Department – ntomlinson@thorpehouse.co.uk
Mrs M Wade, Learning Support – mwade@thorpehouse.co.uk

Peripatetic teachers

Mr R Freeman, Brass
Mr T Leakey, Piano
Mr P Mallyon, Drums
Mrs L McGrory, Piano
Mr M Morris, , Guitar and violin
Mr A Penman, Woodwind
Mr G Sculphur, Electric guitar
Mr M Talks, Cello
Mr J Woodward, Percussion

Activity coaches

Ms L Taylor and Ms A George, Swimming Coaches
Mr P Stanford, Wycombe Wanderers Football Club
Mr M Small, Judo

Office staff

Bursar, Mrs J Potter – bursar@thorpehouse.co.uk
Bursar’s Assistant, Mrs C Young – cyoung@thorpehouse.co.uk
Registrar and Headmaster’s PA, Mrs J Tyler – office@thorpehouse.co.uk
School Administrator and HR Officer, Mrs N Davidson – ndavidson@thorpehouse.co.uk
Marketing Communications Officer, Mrs J Gaine – marketing@thorpehouse.co.uk
Matron and Domestic Bursar, Mrs J Parker – matron@thorpehouse.co.uk
Receptionists, Mrs J Bevan – reception@thorpehouse.co.uk
Facilities Manager, Mr A Lakhan – facilities@thorpehouse.co.uk
Maintenance Officer, Mr D Perry
Maintenance Officer, Mr A Turner

Kitchen staff

Head Chef, Mr J Hill
Assistant Chef, Ms M Mosley

``We chose Thorpe House for its warm and nurturing environment. Since our sons have been there they have thrived academically and socially. What sets Thorpe House apart for us is the fact every boy is encouraged to reach their full potential.``

Contact Thorpe House School

If you would like more information about the school, would like a prospectus or would like to arrange a visit, please contact Mrs Tyler, our registrar using the form below.

  • Your Name:*
    0
  • Phone number:*
    1
  • Email address:*
    2
  • Message:*
    3
  • 4

Thorpe House News

Longridge with Year 7, a great day and the boys have had tremendous fun! Thanks @LongridgeMarlow https://t.co/U1a1x03cNh 18 hours ago
Y7 residential at Longridge. Ready, steady, go! @Get_Bucks @MyMarlowUK @GXLocal @GXonline @LongridgeMarlow https://t.co/HHmYrLolSV 1 day ago